Can The Police Search My Car In Texas If They Just Smell Marijuana?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 YES! In Texas, the odor of burned marijuana gives the police the probable cause necessary to perform a legal search. The situation usually presents itself during a traffic stop when an officer smells marijuana through the open window while speaking with the driver. The odor of […]

Continue reading...

What’s Deferred Adjudication in Texas?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 What is Deferred Adjudication in Texas? On certain criminal cases you may be eligible for deferred adjudication as part of a plea agreement. What’s different with deferred adjudication is when you plead guilty, the judge does not find you guilty, and as a result (as long […]

Continue reading...

What Does Proof Beyond Reasonable Doubt Mean in Texas?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 In Texas, as is the case in the rest of the United States, the government has the burden of proof in a criminal case. What this means is the State of Texas has the burden to prove a Defendant is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt to […]

Continue reading...

Top Questions and Answers Regarding Marijuana Possession in Collin/Dallas Counties

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Possession of Marijuana FAQ  Here are some answers to questions I often hear regarding possession of marijuana cases here in Texas. Q:        What does possession really mean? A:        The Texas Penal Code Section 1.07(39) defines “possession” as “actual care, custody, control, or management.”  In other words, […]

Continue reading...

Marijuana Penalties in Dallas/Collin Counties Texas

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Although the views of the country are changing regarding marijuana, it is still illegal to possess marijuana in Texas. I am often asked what the penalties are regarding marijuana possession are in Texas. The penalties are as follows:   Weight Classification Penalty Usable amount up to […]

Continue reading...

Collin County Writ Bonds

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Need a Writ Bond?  Need an Attorney Bond? If you have a friend or a loved one that has been arrested in McKinney, Plano, Frisco, or some of the smaller municipalities in Collin County, the jail staff may have informed you that you need a writ […]

Continue reading...

Top 5 Mistakes People Make When Arrested in Dallas and Collin Counties

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 1) Talking Usually immediately following an arrest comes an investigation. Remember always that a person charged with a crime has the right to remain silent. Giving an investigator details about the alleged crime may ultimately hurt their case for a variety of reasons. For example, due […]

Continue reading...

What You Need to Know About Assault Family Violence Charges in Collin/Dallas Counties

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 What is Family Violence? Family violence as defined under the family code is “an act by a member of a family or household against another member of the family or household that is intended to result in physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault or […]

Continue reading...

What You Need To Know About The Deep Lung Device/Ignition Interlock in Collin County

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 To start with, an Ignition Interlock or Deep Lung Device (DLD) is a portable machine that is installed on the vehicle to prevent the car from starting if it detects alcohol in the driver’s system. In order to start a vehicle with a DLD, the driver […]

Continue reading...

You Can Be Charged With Assault Even If You Are The Victim

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 An assault case can be a very tricky situation. Even if you are the victim in an assault, you can be charged as the aggressor. Here’s why: A fight of any sort is a very difficult situation for any police officer to come into because it […]

Continue reading...