What You Need to Know About Vehicle Searches and Your Expectation of Privacy in Your Vehicle

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Usually a warrant is required to search to search a person’s residence. An automobile, however, is an entirely different animal than a house, for example. There is an exception to the warrant requirement for automobiles. The rationale is that cars are mobile, and they could depart […]

Continue reading...

Can Police Use a Traffic Stop as an Excuse to Search My Car?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 If the police see you speeding, swerving, or committing any other traffic offense, the officer has reasonable suspicion to pull you over, write you a ticket and send you on you way. The officer can also, check your driver’s license, check to see if you have […]

Continue reading...

The State is Trying To Revoke My Probation–What Can I Do About It?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Probation is technical and expensive. To be successful on probation you have to be organized, disciplined, and have a little bit of luck. People complete their probation obligations every day, but for many the road through probation is hard. For example, if you plead guilty to […]

Continue reading...

What is K2 and is it Legal in Texas?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 The generic definition of K2 is that it is a psychoactive designer drug made up of natural herbs that are sprayed with synthetic chemicals. When the mix is done correctly, the drug mimics the effects of cannabis (marijuana). The mixture is best known on the street […]

Continue reading...

Can I Be Arrested If I Have Prescription Medication Without the Prescription?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 YES! However, if you can provide a copy of the prescription (and show it was valid at the time of the arrest), the case against you will most likely be dismissed. A valid prescription is a defense to the prosecution of the case, but it will […]

Continue reading...

What Is a Drug Free Zone?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Common drug free zones you come across in Texas are schools. Generally possession of a controlled substance or marijuana in a drug free zone (DFZ) is defined as being within 1000 feet of public or private elementary, or secondary school, or daycare center. As you can […]

Continue reading...

Texas Has Tougher Penalties on First Offense DWIs Where A Person’s BAC Is Above 0.15

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Prior to September 1, 2011, a first offense DWI in Texas, regardless of the person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC), was punishable by a fine that would range from $0 to $2,000 and from 72 hours to 180 days in jail (which could be probated). The punishment […]

Continue reading...

What If The Police Did Not Read Me My Rights!

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Easily, the number one question I am asked when I consult with someone on a criminal case is-“What if the police did not read me my rights?” Frankly, the answer varies with every factual situation and how exactly the criminal investigation progressed. There are certain procedures […]

Continue reading...

DWI Consequences–The Victim Impact Panel

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 If you have been convicted of DWI and are placed on probation, you will have conditions of probation you will have to complete to be successful while on probation. As part of the probation, you will discover that you have to pay a fine, pay court […]

Continue reading...

Can I Get a DWI Because of Marijuana or Other Drugs?

By Bo Kalabus www.rosenthalwadas.com; b.kalabus@rosenthalwadas.com 24-hour Jail Release: 214-402-4364 Yes. A person can be charged and convicted of DWI in Collin or Dallas Counties even if they do not have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level from a breath or a blood test. To win the case, the State must prove the person was intoxicated […]

Continue reading...